Confident, engaging and structured Private Educator NEEDED for 2 Girls (6 and 7) in Upstate New York (just outside of Buffalo, NY)! Schedule is Monday-Friday, 6 hours a day (morning/afternoon) + 5 hours of planning time weekly (35 hours of work per week). Rate is $50-70/hr+, commensurate with experience and educational background. This is an amazing family of 4, and the parents have been homeschooling their girls since Covid hit; they are ready to hand the reins over to someone more qualified, so they can get back to being mom and dad. As with most siblings, these girls could not be more different; the younger of the two is very shy, a homebody and attached to mom, while the eldest is very extroverted, social, and at times a spitfire. You should have experience managing different personalities, know how to manage sibling rivalry and conflict, and be able to tailor lessons based on each child’s individual needs (and grades). They envision a few hours of lessons in the morning, followed by outdoor activities or field trips. While they have not been on a plane since March 2020, the family has taken many road trips (typically 1 week long), often to visit Michigan – be up for an adventure! Once both girls are fully vaccinated and the parents feel its safe to do so, they will likely resume summer travel, which can be up to 6 weeks! During this time you will travel with them and take their studies on the road; researching fun activities and destinations in each city – think national landmarks, national parks, historic sites, and the many zoos, museums, and aquariums you could explore together! They have a curriculum in place from a school based in Ojai, CA which they like, but are open to ideas and would love their PE to create supplemental lessons to further their learning and foster their always growing curiosity!

The ideal candidate for this role has both classroom and homeschooling experience, is well-versed in early elementary school ages/stages, is confident in their abilities and self-motivated, but also knows when to defer to parents and be respectful of their wishes. The family would love to incorporate a second language into their studies, so French or Spanish speaking candidates are encouraged to apply – not required, but a plus! The girls are often in the pool during the summer months, so you should enjoy swimming, too! All members of the family have asthma, and therefore they have been very cautious re: Covid, and have not had any caregivers in the home over the last 2 years. They are looking to hire someone who is very conscious about safety and Covid protocols as well, and all candidates must be vaccinated and boosted against Covid-19 – no exceptions. In addition to asthma, the family has severe pet allergies (do not apply if you have pets), and the girls have nut, dairy and egg allergies.

Please note that dad works from home and while mom has been fully child-focused since their eldest was born, she’s ready to get back to working and will be in and out of the house, so please be comfortable not always being solo. This is truly a wonderful family and they are eager to find a wonderful educator who are be with them for years to come. They are open to ALL US CANDIDATES, and can assist with relocation and getting you settled. They are looking to interview now and hire for an early-mid August start date. Apply TODAY!

Interested in this position?

Share via
Checkout this awesome nanny job!

Not the right job for you?